Lowry and Chaplin

Just saw this Lowry on Manchester Art Gallery’s FB page:

Their caption reads:

The subject of this painting is the laying of a foundation stone of a new school. Although it was supposed to be a dignified, serious occasion, Lowry found the ceremony pompous and its participants comic. The man laying the foundation stone was a town councillor who liked the painting. However, his suggestion that it be purchased for the council was rejected. The vicar, who is also represented in the painting, objected to it strongly. He apparently visited Lowry and said, ‘You’re no gentleman. I think you should be ashamed of yourself, making fun of a civic ceremony…’ The artist replied, ‘I don’t pretend to be a gentleman, but I do feel I’m entitled to paint what I like when I see it in the open air.’

When I saw this earlier in the year, I was struck by how much it reminded me of the opening scenes Charlie Chaplin’s City Lights.
https://youtu.be/HzUlq5Pd9PI

City-Lights-2

Currently on display in the Urban Landscapes exhibition.Go and see this- small bit perfectly formed!!!
#MAGexhibitions

Leave a Reply

