Top 10 Exhibitions of 2015 Part 1

Having hit my target of 50 exhibitions or gallery visits in a year, it seemed apt to put together a top ten and, oh my, making those sort of decisions took a lot of work!

https://travelswithmyart.wordpress.com/so-far-in-2015-i-have-seen/

For Christmas Eve, we have places 6-10 to fill:

Number 10

Pollock: Blind Spot at Tate Liverpool

Simply because I didn’t ‘get’ Pollock before, but thanks to this curation (and a rather excellent audio guide) I think I have a handle on the master of the drip.

https://travelswithmyart.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/would-you-credit-it-i-like-pollock/

jp

Number 9

Tate Liverpool again for Leonora Carrington

Having been to see this exhibition, I have also read her surreal novel, The Hearing Trumpet, which had me in fits throughout.  Such an interesting character and a strong female presence in modern art.  

https://travelswithmyart.wordpress.com/2015/05/31/leonora-carrington-amongst-the-surrealists/

https://travelswithmyart.wordpress.com/2015/03/07/lets-hear-it-for-the-girls-2-leonora-carrington/

Green Tea

Number 8

Picasso: Creatures and Creativity at Bellagio Fine Arts Gallery in Las Vegas

I went all the way to Las Vegas just for an art exhibition!!!  Had to be in the top ten and I managed to eat in their fine-dining restaurant, beneath an incredible self-portrait that still sends shivers down my spine – can’t remember anything about the food, though!

https://travelswithmyart.wordpress.com/2015/08/08/picasso-in-vegas/

IMG_20150805_133529041 IMG_20150806_230414311

Number 7

Rock Drill Transformed by War at Walsall New Art Gallery

This one had me dancing for joy – I got to see the reconstructed Rock Drill next to the Bronze Torso that it became.  Even The Doctor couldn’t have worked out the timey-wimeyness of this paradox! 

https://travelswithmyart.wordpress.com/2015/08/05/rock-drill-deconstructed-again/

IMG_20150903_180724673

Number 6

Walker Art Gallery for ‘Reality’: Modern and Contemporary British Paintings

It took two attempts to come to terms with this exhibition.  Being able to talk about some of the works really opened up a better understanding.  Sometimes it does take two.

These three works were the ones I would like to see again:

(c) DACS; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

Walter Sickert – Ennui


(c) Paula Rego; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

Paula Rego – Snare


The Candy Man – Alan McDonald

With the Sickert, it appealed to my feminist outlook on the perils of marriage – trapped like the birds in the glass ornamental dome, the wife looks weary of her lot and dreams of a different life.  However, as it was pointed out, perhaps the husband is feeling equally trapped in a marriage where his wife no longer talks to him and his cigar is his only pleasure.

I loved Paula Rego’s work and, no, I have no idea why there is a crab flailing around on its back. I resonated with the girl playing with her dog as it was so reminiscent of my fun I had with childhood pet who was, quite simply, my best friend.
  
In my original notes for The Candy Man, I put ‘WTF’!  But the second viewing had me in fits of giggles thanks to the realisation that it was just nonsense: Jesus, wrapped in a duvet, on a moped, being buzzed by a helicopter and a flying saucer – what’s not to like!

TOP FIVE DUE ON NEW YEAR’S EVE: WHAT MADE IT TO NUMBER ONE??????

 

This entry was posted in Travels.

Leave a Reply

