Loving Turner

temple-of-poseidon.jpgThis is Turner’s Temple of Poseidon at Sunium (Cape Colonna) from around 1834. I confess that I was not a huge fan of Turner’s but that probably was more to do with a lack of knowledge more than anything else. He just did landscapes and seascapes, didn’t he?

That changed when I visited the Tate for their exhibtion ‘Ruin Lust’.  http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-britain/exhibition/ruin-lust

This was a really interesting exhibition and as I went round I came across this watercolour.  At first, it seemed quite ordinary; fitted in with the theme but as I stood in front of it, I found myself dissolving into tears.  Although the room was busy, I felt completely alone and so desperately wanted to walk into that scene where I could sit on the far edge looking out into that turbulent sea.  The light was incredible and it was hard to see this as a painting any more: it was an escape.

This painting changed everything that I had thought about Turner and about art in general.  Someone told me that I’d fallen in love with a Turner. Is that possible? Can you love a painting?  What I do think is that I had connected with someone who could express on a canvas exactly what I was feeling at that time and who understood how it felt to stand there and gaze upon it. Thanks, Mr Turner!

 

 

Leave a Reply

